Photography

Since May last year when I got my 1st SLR digital camera I have been on a very steep learning curve.  At times it has felt so steep that I have wanted to just give up on it all.  For many years I just used my Dad’s old Pentax spotomatic and much to my surprise I discovered I could take photos.  Because I wanted to have an automatic focus camera I asked my husband for a newer camera and thought that I would go digital.  After some limited knowledge research I purchased a Pentax K20D.  Was it the right choice of camera, who knows it was the one that I could afford.  I have been happy with it and I am not sure that my happiness would have been any less if I had bought an equivalent enthusiast level Canon or Nikon.  Although a large proportion of photographers in Australia’s photography world would tell me otherwise.  At first I was just using my camera to take photos of my children and any paintings that I do, and then later a few babyshoots for family and friends.

At the beginning of this year I went to a friend of mines birthday party, while I was there I got talking to one of her friends who was recently engaged.  Much to my surprised she asked me to take photos of her wedding.  I explained that I was in no way a professional.  She said that she understood, she just liked my style.  I didn’t say yes straight away, but after a long consideration I said yes.  Oh how I have regretted that decision night after night.  I have lost so much sleep since then trying to fast pace my learning.  At the time I had 6 months to learn as much as I could.  I now have 3 months til the wedding.  Stress levels are increasing. I have gone around begging people to do photoshoots for them.  So far I have done two (plus many on my kids).  I make sure that I put myself in difficult lighting situations etc.  The whole idea is to get practice and put myself in situations where I would be forced to learn, and make mistakes and it would be ok.  I can tell you the more I do the more I realise I have so much more to learn.  A wedding encompases so many different unpredicable situations eg. Lighting, people, weather, fast pace etc.  It is not like your little 2-3 hour baby photoshoot where your lighting is a bit more predicable (ok the baby isn’t).  But once you set up for the shoot you pretty much don’t move from your post.  Its a lot slower paced then a wedding for one.  I think the biggest thing I need to achieve is to be able to use my camera without thinking too much about the basics.  Just like driving a car where when you learn the basics you are able to relax a bit more and concentrate on traffic, people, directions, kids in the car, or just enjoy the music.  This is where I need to get to.

My first photoshoot I was fairly happy with, could see that I had a lot of room to improve but I was happy with my progress.

Tn_IMGP6883Tn_IMGP6898Tn_IMGP6945Tn_IMGP6993Tn_IMGP6930

 

The second photo shoot was the engaged couple.  I am not sure if it was because they were the ones who had asked me to take photos of their wedding or not, but it didn’t go as well as I would have liked.  I was so disappointed with the photos that I nearly asked them if I could do the shoot again.  But I didn’t, I had enough photos from that shoot that they hopefully will be ok with.

Tn_PCeng03Tn_PCeng12Tn_PCeng36Tn_PCeng43

 

I now have another 3 lined up (although the dates aren’t as yet set).  Hopefully I will be able to practice what I have since researched on line and in books.  Funny I read other peoples blogs and try to best understand them, but it is not until I attempt to do what they are saying and make mistakes do I fully understand what they are saying when I read their post again.  Self-learning is a long process.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

