A simple yet beautiful country wedding

Our weekend was full of wonderful surprises.  My mind was nervous and crowded with thoughts about cards, camera, lighting gear, batteries etc.  Thoughts about packing everyday items such as clothes, toiletries and makeup were crowded out.  Lucky for me Ben took over that department seeing that I wasn’t about to complete the task.  He didn’t do too badly, he only forgot my makeup – hey I needed some more anyway :).After dropping Ewan off at my parents we continued our trip with Ada in tow to the beautiful Barossa.  I spent that afternoon warming up my camera skills taking photo of the reception venue and witnessing the wedding rehearsal to give me a heads up.  A big thanks to Carolyn and Paul’s wonderful minister Joe who was so helpful in giving hints about when and where I should be during the ceremony proceedings.

After a full day we traveled to the place where we were to stay and were so warmly greeted by family friends.  What a wonderful place to stay – we were so blessed.  It was a place of sanctuary and were we were so generously provided for.  On the day of the wedding Ada was tenderly spoiled by our friends while Ben and I went about photographing the wonderful day.

The day of the wedding went fairly well.  Yes of course the bride was a little late – but that is the way it is spose to be.  The guest were somewhat relieved as many of them expressed how they themselves were late also.  Did I make mistakes as a photographer – yes I did.  However, for my first time photographing a wedding I need to be gracious with myself.  I can’t believe how quickly you have to think as a photographer.  You don’t really get a lot of time to consider the ins and outs of the photographic day.  The one thing that I didn’t predict was how exhausted that I would be at the reception.  To be honest I am a little disappointed with my output during this time.  However, despite this I hope that I was able to record the day and that the photos will be something that Paul and Carolyn will be able to enjoy for many years to come.  Thank you Paul and Carolyn for welcoming me so warmly into your day.  You took a big risk asking me, one which I was shocked but honored to be asked to do.  God’s blessing on you both as journey on this new and exciting adventure.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

