Critiquing welcome

I love paintings that are loose and free.  I have always wanted to paint this style.  So last night I thought that I would stop lamenting and just give it a try.  I pulled out my acrylics, canvas, paint brushes, impasto medium and palette knives.  This is in fact the first time I have ever used impasto medium and palette knives.  Last night I sat down and searched the internet reading up on the styles of Monet, Renoir and Camille Pissarro.  Some of the founding members of the Impressionists.  Now I don’t claim to be an impressionist painter, however, I was really inspired by their quality of light, strong brush strokes and use of colour.

A professional artist once said in a demonstration that I was attending that the best way to learn (when you lack time) is to paint LOTS of little paintings.  Last night I applied his principle, and made the painting to be small in size 12cm (H) x 15cm (W).  A one night achieveable size.  My aim was to paint atmosphere.  The painting is of a summers day, on the beach Goolwa, SA.  Its a very simple subject – being a women body border walking along the beach.  It is fairly low-keyed in tone erring more on the side of light-medium tones.  Hope you enjoy it, I certainly did painting it.  Feel free to critique.

Goolwa surf

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

