The hungry time monster

Up at 6am, wake Ewan, the daily school grind has started.  Off I start: “School uniform on Ewan, shoes on, its a hot day so sandles on, or its a cold day so boots, time for breakfast, brush your teeth, lunch packed?… “.  Its a lot more work than I anticipated, with homework to work on when he comes home and a grumpy child adjusting to his new life.  Things will settle I know.  I am counting on it.  I have so much work that I have put on hold while the family adjust to this new way of life.  Tears on his first day, not by Ewan, but by me.  Where did that time go, how is it possible that he is in school?  The first step he has taken to becoming that little bit more separate from me and become his own self.  I have to learn to trust, the school, his friends, and of course him.  Am I proud of him?  yes you bet.  That sense of wonder and pride that I had when he was born, still there, alive, and thriving more and more every day.  Much to do, but lets stop a while and ponder before the hungry time monster eats the fleeting moments that rush by us.  Wow what an awesome moment to stop and reflect!  How lucky and blessed am I.

On a different note the recent addition to my painting rendition.  Hope you can stop, enjoy and reflect upon this painting.  Happy viewing.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Family, Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

