Painting is more than skill

The other day I was painting along side my son.  Ewan was was doing a paint by colour water colour,  I was completing a painting of Maslin’s Beach.  Ewan started to get frustrated with his painting saying that he had made a mistake.  Upset he threw it away and picked up a new picture to paint.  I started to try encourage him to keep going with his original painting saying things like: making a mistake doesn’t mean that you fail, keep going it might sort it self out, its ok to make a mistake…. no sooner had a finished saying these things to Ewan than I slipped with my palette knife and stripped off the last few hours worth of paint on my canvas.  Frustrated I let out a cry, my son looked at me with concern I assured him it wasn’t his fault that Mummy had just made a mistake.  Now the test then was what I was going to do next.  I knew I had to finish it especially after what I had said to Ewan.  Frustrated I started to repaint the painting, inside I was boiling and outside the painting seemed to get worse.  I took a break to cook tea.  After putting the kids to bed I set about fixing the painting.  After some time I finished the painting.  Totally unsure if it was worth framing.  The journey to finishing the painting had been difficult and that had somehow clouded my view of it.  In the end I did frame it.  I placed it in the Flagstaff Hill Rotary Exhibition not expecting to sell.  I went back to pick my paintings up to discover that I had sold two paintings one being the painting of Maslin’s Beach.

Painting I believe is more than about our skills, it is also greatly influenced by our mental attitude .  Thinking one is a failure will result in a failed painting.  This painitng had really tested me, do I quit and accept failure or do I persevere and hope for success.  In this instance the test of perseverance had paid off.

Lady Bay

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

