Tones they make the difference

In January, after a long stint of failed attempts to paint, I painted a quick painting of one of my local beaches Silver Sands.  It was a spontaneous simple painting, that (at the time) was crucial in breaking the “painters block” that I was experiencing.  From this painting I went on to paint several more successful paintings.  At the time I was happy with it and I went about photographing, framing, naming it “Soaring on Silver Sands” and entered it into the the Flagstaff Hill Rotary Exhibition.  But then after completing some other paintings I felt that something was wrong with the painting.  My eyes just couldn’t rest on the right parts of the painting and it just didn’t have the same feel that I felt on the day of the actual event.  Despite this I went ahead and exhibited the painting along side two other paintings that I had done, in which both of those sold. However, when I thought about putting it in my most recent exhibition with my art group Willunga Hill Art Group (WHAG) this troubled thought niggled at me.  I didn’t want to exhibit it, I felt embarrassed with the painting.  NOT GOOD!

After having a chat with other people they all agreed that something wasn’t right with the painting.  It was then that I decided to undo the backing on the frame, take out the painting and attempt to fix it up.  My conclusion was that I was either going to fix the painting or use the frame to frame a new painting.  After some study I changed some of the tones in the sky and the foreground, lightening some areas and darkening others.

Concluding that the painting was still worth framing I went back to my framer to get him to re-frame it for me.  Still not totally sure it was salable, but more confident (and no longer embarrassed) that it had the right feel and the tones were correct.  With this boost in confidence I exhibited it in WHAG’s current exhibition (opened this Sunday gone, 4th July).  On the day of the opening I was pleased to find that it had sold the day before.  Wow, a few little tonal changes turned a painting from an embarrassment to something someone else took pleasure in.  How grateful am I!

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

