Koi Pizzazz

Koi Pizzazz, Acrylic on Canvas

Koi Pizzazz, Acrylic on Canvas

 

I have had this painting brewing now for about 8 months after walking into a Japanese merchandise store and seeing a beautiful water colour Koi painting on the wall.  This painting was delicate and gentle, showing the graceful movement of Koi.  I dreamt of doing a painting similar to this, however never had the time or inspiration to do it.  Last night while catching up on the blogs I follow.  I was looking at Aletha Kushcan ‘crudely’ drawn Koi http://alethakuschan.wordpress.com/and was inspired. Aletha’s is an artist who manages to capture movement, spontaneity, vibrancy and colour so well.  Her work is definitely not as dreamlike and gentle as the water colour painting I had seen before, but somehow it seemed to sit better with me. I was motivated!  The kids were in bed, it was 7:20 pm, and I had time.  I set up my easel and paints.  Did a quick sketch from a photo I took of Koi in Hawaii.  I wanted to capture my memory of them.  The moment I walked onto the bridge crossing their stream they all started to jostle each other to get my attention.  It was a beautiful dance of flickering colour, light and swishing water.   My rendition of Koi is not as all gentle as the painting in the store, nor is it the same as Aletha’s, but it is a painting which is in tune with me and my memory of them.

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

