When life doesn’t stop

Beach stroll, Normanville

We all have those times.  Times when we are too busy.  Sometimes our busyness is having too many things to do.  Other times its simply having one stressful thing.  Whatever it is there has to come a time when life stops.  Where we have a pitstop from our busyness.  Relax and unwind.  Refocus our lives.  Re-evaluate what is really important and restore our physical and mental wellbeing.

The other day Ben and I took the kids down the beach.  We were both feeling the busyness of life.  We took a leisurely walk and finally found a place to settle down and just sit.  The kids built sandcastles, found feathers and shells.  We on the other hand did nothing.  I don’t even remember talking that much, we just simply absorbed our surroundings.  It was very quiet, the waves crashed gently on the shore, and there was a very gentle breeze coming from the west.  I sat leaning against Ben watching the waves and the surfers riding them.  Occassionaly people and their dogs passed by. Or there was movement from local fishermen casting and reeling out there lines.  The action, if any, was very slow and soothing.  It was like life stopped.  The stress that I felt faded away.  I knew that I would eventually have to return to my busyness, but for a moment the stress didn’t matter.  I was refreshed, renewed to keep up the momentum of my day to day life.

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Family, Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

