Living in God’s favour

FamilyWhat I am about to write is challenging and has been birthed out of the struggle I have experienced over the last 6-9 months. These last months have been a time of stripping. Stripping away my own self-reliance and pride. It also been a time of building. Building my faith in God, my understanding of God as my provider and what means to be in His favour.

My husband and I moved to Sydney in faith, believing it was God’s will. It wasn’t something we did on some whim, but something that we tested in His word, and was confirmed through prayer and spoken word from many sources over and over again. In fact God made it so clear to us, that we knew we were moving even before the opportunity to move arose.  Both Ben and I loved living in Adelaide, the thought of leaving was very painful. Despite this, we chose God’s will over our feelings.  We didn’t choose His will in fear of punishment if we didn’t, nor did we believe that we would be excessively blessed with things if we did. We chose to do His will because we knew there was an eternal purpose in it. We chose to live in God’s favour.

What does it mean to live in God’s favour?

When we moved to Sydney we knew nothing about the area we were moving to. We had no home to go to, no school for our children, no church, no deep friendships, nor any understanding of the culture, climate, roads etc.  We were vulnerable, naive, lost, stressed, struggling and needy. None of those words describe people who have it all together.  Our attempts to find a school, home, church were futile. Our frustration grew. We moved to a place where we believed God had told us to go. We were a couple who believed we were in the will of God. What was going on?  Were we not receiving because we were no longer in God’s favour, had we suddenly slipped out of God’s will?  Limiting God’s favour to whether or not things are looking good is living a lie.

Being in Gods favour is not about having a car or being ‘blessed’ with monetary riches. Our basic needs for a home, appropriate transport, clothes, education for our children, work, food etc are just that, things we need nothing more.  They are needs that God provides for us while we live on this earth. They are not the everything, the climax or the ultimate goal of our Godly pursuit. They are temporal. They provide no long term satisfaction, nor can they follow us into eternity. Yet these temporal needs have become big things in our church life. We focus so much on the temporal, that we can’t seek God’s kingdom first. We have everything upside down.

Living in God’s favour means that you have been given keys to eternity with God. It means that God has invited you to be a part of His eternal plan of salvation. It means that He considers you His precious priceless son or daughter. As His children we have access to heavenly things now. We can bind and cast out demons by speaking the name of Jesus.  Why? Because we have favour with our God; He has given us the right and authority to use the name of Jesus. We can seek God’s will and speak it into being. Why? Because we have favour with our God. Christ death gave us access to the throne room of God the Father. There is no barrier, there is an open door to God. Thus allowing intimacy with God and the ability to know His heart. None of these things have anything to do with having or not having a car, or home, or money etc. Nor does it have anything to do with being in adversity or not being in adversity. We have adversity in this world because we live in a broken world. Being in God’s favour is not insurance against adversity in our lives. In fact, God has used the last 6 or so months of adversity in my life to shape me and reveal more amazing truths about Himself. God often uses adversity to our advantage! God’s favour is not a get rich plan. If God provides a home, car, a holiday or any temporal need we have, it is for the purpose of being able to fulfil His will. It is to equip, build, and provide avenues for His restoration. Thus enabling us to do His eternal purpose. Not to distract us from it.

God is not a transactional God that only blesses and provides for us when we are doing everything right. Doing God’s will, being good, kind, thankful, singing praises to Him, giving tithes and offerings, reading our bibles etc are action we do in response to His love, not to receive love. There is nothing you can do that will make Him love you more or ‘bless’ you more. If you know God and are walking in His salvation then you are blessed. Whether you are saved or unsaved, God’s love is always available to you. The only action required to receive the fullness of His love is to believe in Him and to choose Him above your own heart wants or the temporal offerings of this world.

It took some months to find a home for our family (we only furnished it late last week). We eventually found a school that my kids are happy in, and we are still praying and seeking God’s will for a church. We still have needs that I am surrendering to God. I know that He will provide, I trust Him. God has provided everything that we needed and more then we imagined.  I learnt so much during our time without. One was that I really didn’t need to worry as much as I did.  God got me to the place where I couldn’t provide for myself for me to realise I didn’t have to, he had it all under control. When my focus was on trusting God for His provision I found peace and God gave me/us clarity on what to do next. God didn’t fail us once. He proved himself to be an excellent provider.  He didn’t provide for us because of what we did or didn’t do. He gave us our needs because we are His little children and He is our Daddy. He is the loving Father who provides all of our needs.

Related Posts of interest:

The challenge of Faith

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Christian Experience, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Living in God’s favour

  1. GodGirl says:

    Such wise words here. So glad God is not transactional – because through our pain and ‘lack’ we learn so many things. It sounds like it’s been a tough journey but I’m thankful you are seeing God’s provision for you. I’m in Sydney too, in the north-west. Let me know if you need any advice – or prayer – re. church. My email is alisonleader@yaffa.com.au if you need any help.

  2. Mel Wild says:

    Awesome insights. Two I particularly liked…
    “Limiting God’s favour to whether or not things are looking good is living a lie.”
    “God is not a transactional God that only blesses and provides for us when we are doing everything right. Doing God’s will, being good, kind, thankful, singing praises to Him, giving tithes and offerings, reading our bibles etc are action we do in response to His love, not to receive love.”
    Amen! Spot on. Real spiritual maturity and wisdom from God here.
    Glad to see you writing here again. Sounds like God has brought you and your family through an amazing season, learning how to walk on the water with Him. 🙂 Blessings.

    • “Learning how to walk on the water with” God, ha ha. If you mean discovering how God’s ways are nothing like mine. That I have to let go of my natural, ‘safe’, controlled instincts to discover true safety,strength and peace in God, then yes I am definitely learning to walk on water with God. Thanks, good to be back.

Leave a Reply

