Spontaneous Drawing

I watch my kids draw and paint with great interest. They do it so spontaneously and so uninhibited. Their images are simplistic representations of their life.  My two and half year old daughter was drawing some pictures of family members.  She was drawing shapes, circles, ovals, lines etc.  Each shape represented some aspect of that person’s face, their nose, eyes etc.  I stopped and listened to her talk as she drew her daddy and I could hear her saying “legs… legs… legs…”.  I looked at her page and I could see some faint ovals which had a lot of long lines coming down from it.  This may not mean much to you, but those who know my husband would know that he is very tall and quite long legged.

Ada's family

I have seen my son draw some amazing pictures, one in particular caught my attention, it was of sail boats on a choppy sea.  They were made up of curved triangles with lines and zig zag patterns on the sails.  The choppy sea was made up of the colours blue and aqua and had dark blue jagged lines representing the waves.  His picture was so simplistic, not photo representational, yet I knew exactly what it was and immediately fell in love with it.  So much so I scanned it into my computer, enlarged it, painted it up on some canvas, got him to sign it and framed it for his wall.  A part of me is watching wishing that I could have that spontaneity back and wondering where it went.  What happens to us as we get older?  Somewhere along the line we seem to become stiff and rigid, its like we over think things.  We get bogged down in the detail, and the need for perfection.  When my kids draw they aren’t looking for perfection they are just wanting to express life as they see it.  What an inspiration!

Sailing boats

About Vulnerability of the heart

I am a wife, a mother, and a treasured child of God. My Christian faith is my source of strength. I’ve fallen into the depths of despair and been carried out of it in the loving arms of God. By His grace I have been healed. God has taken me on an incredible journey. I have experienced the painful things of this world and discovered in them God’s love and faithfulness. I believe in a merciful God who has never left me. He is forever faithful.
This entry was posted in Family, Visual Art - Drawing & Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

